Forgiven Much

forgiven

How much have you been forgiven for? I can say of myself I have been forgiven by the Lord Jesus for a lot. I have recently been reading a book by Frank Viola entitled, “From Eternity to Here”. Last night I read a chapter dealing with the account of Jesus and a woman named Mary Magdalene in the Gospel of Luke chapter 7.  

Mary became an uninvited guest at a dinner given by Simon the pharisee for Jesus. She spent all day trying to find Jesus after He had freed her from the many demons that had tormented her. The verse that truly got my attention in this account is found in verse 47. It says, Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”

In the past I have not expressed my love for the Lord very often. This verse may explain the reason for this. I have been a Christian for over 30 years, yet I have struggled with believing all that the Lord has done for me. I have spent years living in guilt and shame over my behavior towards myself and others. In reality I had been committing the sin of unbelief in during these years. I could not bring myself to tell the Lord of my love and devotion to Him because I was putting up a wall of unbelief and a lack of forgiving myself and was shutting Him out.

Now in the past year the Lord has been revealing to me who He is in me and who I am in Him. What a wonderful change in perspective. I used to believe that because of my behavior that I was unable to please the Lord.  This is simply not true. I am pleasing to Him always simply because of my faith in Him. He has chosen me to be in Him before the foundation of the world according to Ephesians 1:4.  This is also true of all those who have put their trust in Christ and received His forgiveness of all their sins. What a wonderful Christ!

I love my Lord and I am grateful for all He has forgiven me for. I have made so many mistakes and sins in my life, but He has forgiven them all. When you realize just how much He has done for you, I believe you will love Him even more than you do today.

Categories: Bible, Personal | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

