I’ve Been Diagnosed With Cancer

20141204_104146

Where shall I begin my story of this journey with cancer? I suppose I shall start at the beginning.  It was a cool November evening at our apartment in Santa Clara, California in 2012.  We had some friends over for our regular home fellowship group.  After an hour of our meeting together I had to use the restroom.  I became very alarmed when all that came out was blood in my visit to the restroom.  I quietly told my wife, Tanisha, about it and we continued our meeting.  After our guests left and we went to bed I could not get comfortable.  I had sharp stabbing pains in the right flank of my back.  After a couple of hours of trying to endure the pain, I decided to get myself to the emergency room of a local hospital.

My wife and I waited for about 30 minutes to be seen by a doctor.  He asked the routine questions.  He decided that he wanted an MRI done to determine if I had kidney stones. After waiting almost 2 hours for the results, another doctor came in and told me that I have renal cell carcinoma and walked out.  I looked at my wife and said, “Carcinoma!  That’s cancer isn’t it?”  We were then told that I would be receiving a call from the urology department about setting up a surgery.  So we left the emergency room with no real answers as to what was going on.  I guess that is all one can expect from a Santa Clara Valley Medical.

A few weeks later I was able to meet with the urologist and he explained that I had a large malignant tumor on my right kidney and would need to have a radical nephrectomy to take care of it.  Finally, in early February of 2013 I had the procedure to remove the tumor and the right kidney.  I was also recovering from a surgery to my right wrist 3 weeks prior to the surgery to remove my right kidney.  I had injured my wrist at work and was out on workers’ compensation. I was in the hospital for 5 days for recovery.  I spent the about a week after coming home from the hospital recovering from the pain in my abdominal area where the procedure was done.  The next time I saw the urologist he explained that I would be reexamined for cancer in a year by the oncology department.  I thought that my days of having cancer were over.  I was wrong.

… to be continued

Categories: Cancer, Personal | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “I’ve Been Diagnosed With Cancer

  1. Wow, it sounds like your experience in the ER left a lot to be desired. I’m sorry to hear your surgery didn’t stop the cancer. I find it incredible that it takes so long to go from diagnosis to treatment. My husband experienced the same when he was diagnosed with lung cancer. Currently we are in the recovery room after he had a biopsy done one is right kidney. It’s extremly rare that lung cancer matastcizes there so we are hopeful. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

ConverStations: Small Business Improvements

The Insights of John A. Sansone

Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola

The Insights of John A. Sansone

