High Cost of Cancer Drugs

large_article_im2104_cancer_drugsThere is a high cost to paying for needed cancer drugs these days.  Since it is the start of a new year, anyone with health insurance knows that they now have to meet their deductible all over again. For many of my fellow cancer patients their deductible for this year has increased.  I am included in that group with a higher deductible with my new insurance company.  This means that until the deductible is met, the cost of regular prescriptions and cancer drugs has a much bigger price tag. Let me give you a recent example of this high cost from my own cancer treatment.  I recently filled out a copay assistance application with the help of my care manager here at Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA).  This was for copay assistance for my cancer fighting drug, Votrient.  The cost of this drug for a 30 day supply is around $6000.  Now I was approved for the copay assistance and they paid about $4200, which leaves me a balance of $1800.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t have an extra $1800 lying around in my checking account.  I met with my oncologist yesterday, and he is going to be looking into other options to assist with the cost or changing my treatment all together.  Now, if my deductible was met, my cost with the copay assistance would drop my cost down to around $40.  So what is the answer to the question regarding the high cost of cancer treatment drugs? I found this article online that sheds some light on this question.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3538397/

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “High Cost of Cancer Drugs

  1. Charlene Cancilla

    I saw a program on 60 minutes about this and it was absolutely mind blowing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

