Cancer Treatment Update 1/9/15

Greetings.cf-logo

I met with my oncologist Dr. Walter Quan Jr. and the rest of my care team here at Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA) yesterday.  I am still undergoing treatment for stage 4 kidney cancer that spread to my lungs.  My blood work came back showing good results.  My kidney function and liver function are still good.  I am now going to be increasing the dosage of Votrient to 800mg per day instead of 400mg.    This drug is a targeted therapy drug that is taken orally to attempt to slow down or even stop the kidney cancer from growing.  This drug can decrease both liver and kidney function in some patients.  It appears, however, that I am not one of them.  I have noticed that I am slightly more fatigued since starting this medication, and I hope that my fatigue doesn’t get any worse.  I am also scheduled to meet with my radiation oncologist, Dr. Chong on the 19th of this month.  He will be checking to see if the large dose of radiation I received in December had any effect on the tumor mass in my right lung.

The past two days I have been feeling rather down.  I have been in this battle with kidney cancer for two years now.  I have been dealing with this stage 4 diagnosis for a year now.  I am thrilled that I can say I am a 2 year cancer survivor, but the battle can get tiring.  I am on my third different treatment option for this cancer.  The first two required me to have infusion of a targeted therapy for several hours through my PowerPort.  Each of these two types of therapy had side effects that were not pleasant.  This new oral medication also has side effects, but now I am taking treatment every day, rather than a couple of times every 3 weeks.  I appreciate all of the prayers that many of you have been bringing to the Lord.  It is my faith in Christ alone that has kept me going this past year.  Yet, like today, I have days where I wish that I was completely cured of this evil disease of cancer.  I must remember my slogan for this year each day.  That is, “I live to fight another day.”

Categories: Cancer, Health, Personal | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cancer Treatment Update 1/9/15

  1. John Anthony,
    Always so good to hear from you. Sounds like CTCA is the place for you to be for support. Praise God that your blood tests can back with such good results. It must be difficult for you at times, but know that God is always at your side and listening to the prayers being raised for you. We all experience down times so put your armor on because that is “you know who” tries to attack. Keep your shield up and know that with God all things are possible. As always continuing to pray. Remember God is Good. All the Time. All the Time. God is Good.
    Peace and Love,
    Marietta

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

ConverStations: Small Business Improvements

The Insights of John A. Sansone

Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola

The Insights of John A. Sansone

