Starting the New Year

challenges-ahead-900-x-500-900x407Today is a sort of special day for me.  It is my spiritual birthday.  Yes, 33 years ago on this date I received Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.  So, this is a great start for this new year for me.  I can still remember that day so many years ago.  I had seen a Billy Graham film just a few days before and heard the Good News about Jesus Christ.  My Nana had given me a little piece of paper with the “sinners prayer” on it the previous day.  I was on a small sand dune at Asilomar Beach in Pacific Grove, CA when I prayed that prayer and believed on Jesus as the only way of salvation.  The Lord Jesus has been faithful to me through all these years, even though I have had many seasons of not being very faithful to Him.  At the end of last year I began to finally grasp that the love of Christ is not dependent on my actions.  He loves me no matter what I do or what I face.  I know this because He knew every wrong I would ever commit and still chose me before the foundation of the world.  The Bible says, Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.  God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.”  Ephesians 1:4-5 NLT

This new year has also already brought me challenges.  I am still battling this stage 4 kidney cancer in my lungs.  I was also served with papers for a petition for divorce today.  But I will continue to look to Christ to see me through all of the trials that will come my way this year.  Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  Hebrews 12:1-2 NKJV

At the opening of this post I said that 33 years ago I accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior.  In this past year He has begun to reveal more of Himself to me.  He is Christ my healer.  He is Christ the lover of my soul.  He is Christ, the everlasting One.  The Apostle Paul told the Church in Galatia,  “But when it pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb and called me through His grace, to reveal His Son in me, that I might preach Him among the Gentiles…” (Gal 1:15-16)  I am looking forward to Him revealing more of Himself to me, as He did to Paul, in this new year.    

Categories: Bible, Church, Personal, Theology | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

ConverStations: Small Business Improvements

The Insights of John A. Sansone

Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola

The Insights of John A. Sansone

