Cancer Treatment Phase 3

TomoTherapyThe next phase of treating stage 4 kidney cancer in my lungs begins tomorrow.  Tomorrow I will be given a very high dose of radiation directed at the tumor mass in my right lung that refuses to shrink.  This will be the third different type of treatment I will have received to battle this kidney cancer in my lungs.  I have already received Interleukin 2 and Torisel for treatment thus far.  On Monday I went through a radiation simulation in the radiation oncology department.  My radiation oncologist, Dr. Lanceford Chong, was there to oversee the process of getting me “lined up” for targeting the radiation cloud.  It was a very interesting process.  I was laying down on a bed in front of the CT scanner with my head held in place on a certain spot.  Then, they molded a pillow like substance around the rest of my body that was formed specifically for me.  After a couple of runs through the CT scanner I was given a couple of marker “tattoos” to keep me in alignment.  My team is hoping that this one dose will be enough to slow down or even stop this one tumor mass that continues to give me problems in my lungs.  Then about one week after receiving the radiation blast, I will be starting on an oral chemo medication called Votrient.  The Torisel treatment helped to eliminate and shrink several tumors in both of my lungs, but this one tumor mass was resistant to it.   I am hopeful that this new set of treatments will finally kill that tumor mass in my right lung.

Categories: Cancer, Health, Personal | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cancer Treatment Phase 3

  1. John Anthony, you are very special to God. You are traveling this journey of life with God holding you close to His heart. My prayers are with you everyday. God bless you dear friend.Marietta

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

