Worst Critic Ever

Have you ever found yourself creating a personal critique of yourself in your mind?  You know, creating a mental list of the mistakes you made on a particular day or even for the past couple of years.  I know I have.  I would say that I am my own worst critic.  A critic is defined as, “a person who expresses an unfavorable opinion of something or someone.”Failure in business

I don’t think I am alone in this.  The Apostle Paul may have at times done the same thing.  In Romans 7 he speaks about doing the very thing he hates doing even though his desire is to only do good.  He told young Timothy in 1 Timothy 1:15 that, “This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.”  The great Paul, who penned, under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, two-thirds of the New Testament called himself the chief of sinners.

Yet, he did not stay in this state of self-condemnation.  In spite of his full knowledge of what kind of man he was before Christ and later in Christ he could honestly say, What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord…” (Rom 7:24-25)  Only through Christ can anyone be free from self-condemnation.  But, that begins after a realization of just what a state of helplessness one is in apart from Christ and who one is in Christ.  Paul summarized it best only a few verses later, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” (Rom 8:1)

For me to continue to condemn myself for my past or my present would simply be acting apart from Christ.  For in Him, I am justified or declared “not guilty” of my wrong doings.  More specifically, anyone in Christ is now seen by the Father as if he/she has never sinned.  What a wonderful, amazing, forgiving God!  That he should look upon me this way with all my faults, besetting sins, and just plain poor decisions is amazing.  I have not completely “arrived” in ceasing to condemn myself, but I continue to pick myself up and keep moving ahead more than I did before.  So based on what Christ has done for me, I can say of myself, “I’m the worst critic ever!”  with a smile now.

 

 

Categories: Bible, Personal, Theology | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

