Surviving Kidney Cancer

cancer-survivorI can say that by the grace and mercy of God, I am a cancer survivor.

In November of 2012, I was diagnosed with renal cell carcinoma.  I thought, “Wait a minute!  Carcinoma is cancer!”  That’s right it is indeed.  After meeting with my urology team, I found out that I had a 8 cm or 4 inch tumor on my right kidney.   To give some perspective, the average kidney is 6 inches.  So, that’s a pretty good-sized tumor on my kidney.  It was decided that the best course of action was to remove the entire kidney.  Fortunately, as human beings, we can live with just one kidney.  So on Feb. 7th, 2013 I had the surgery to remove my right kidney.  The surgery went well and I was in the hospital for 5 days recovering.

A month later, I found out from my team of doctors that the tumor was indeed malignant and was a stage 3 type of cancer.  That means it was an aggressive tumor.  God’s hand was in this whole thing as the cancer was completely restricted to the kidney and had not spread to any surrounding tissue or organs.  My left kidney is functioning well considering it is now doing all the work of filtering my blood.  I thank the LORD that He is my healer and I am free of the pain from the surgery.

I have now joined with my wife in making much more healthy choices in my diet and exercising more to keep my body as healthy as possible.  I can now see that I am not a “kid” anymore and I am not invincible.   There is more life ahead of me and I can say, “I am cancer free”.

Categories: Health, Personal | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Surviving Kidney Cancer

  1. Way to go, kid:-) And Praise Father for His faithfulness!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Word In Season

...a word in due season, how good is it! (Prov. 15:23 KJV)

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Converstations's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog of Milt Rodriguez

Christ and His Church

1019 Ministries

Preparing and Practicing Intercessory Prayer on Purpose

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

